Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post Reply
KnaxMax
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:53 pm
Location: Munich - Germany

Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post by KnaxMax » Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:48 am

Hi,

I always wondered if it would be possible to use an Atari or Commodore mouse at the MZ-800 joystick ports.
AFAIR the C64 mouse (1351) had a special mode, where it more or less emulated normal joystick imput, so it could be used with games, that triggered some kind of pointer/cursor via joystick.

Other software that used it more like a classical mouse, had special drivers for it (GEOS etc.)

So any experience on using such a mouse with Sharp?

goev
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:33 pm

Re: Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post by goev » Tue Feb 13, 2018 2:07 pm

Hm... I haven't tried, but it should be possible to do. The joysticks are port $F0 and $F1, so I don't think there is any interrupts triggering on changes on these ports, which means you must poll the port. Using an Atari-mouse, up-down/down-up pulse indicates Y-movement, and left-right/right-left pulse indicates x-movement.

Jo Even
Site Admin
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:28 pm

Re: Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post by Jo Even » Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:51 am

I guess this would be similar to using mouse on other 8-bits, like the MSX. Polling is required there too. Maybe have a look at the SymbOS source code and see how it's done.

Btw. the MZ-800 would be a great target for SymbOS :)

KnaxMax
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:53 pm
Location: Munich - Germany

Re: Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post by KnaxMax » Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:44 am

Jo Even wrote:
Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:51 am
Btw. the MZ-800 would be a great target for SymbOS :)
This SymbOS looks really cool. Impressing what can be done with 8 Bit machines.
And today some 'makers' use the power of a RasPi3 for just blinking some LEDs.

Jo Even
Site Admin
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:28 pm

Re: Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post by Jo Even » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:32 am

I have SymbOS on my CPC6128 with dual floppydrives and 640Kb RAM. It is indeed very impressive.

goev
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:33 pm

Re: Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post by goev » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:43 am

I think you should port SymbOS to the MZ-800, Jo Even! It is a good reason to finally buy one for yourself ;)

Jo Even
Site Admin
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:28 pm

Re: Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post by Jo Even » Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:53 am

Will not happen :D

fitus
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:52 pm

Re: Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post by fitus » Wed Jun 13, 2018 6:49 am

This issue has been solved many years ago. There is a software ´´MOUSE´´ which you can use with Atari comp. mouse. The manual is in slovak language. http://www.scav.cz/download/MZ-800/MZ-8 ... /Mouse.txt - try google translate. The software is somewhere in download area. You can download it . I didnt try it. Good luck.

User avatar
TextAdventureKing
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 4:42 pm
Location: England, UK
Contact:

Re: Question: how to use a mouse on MZ-800 ?

Post by TextAdventureKing » Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:22 pm

Translated the MOUSE manual into English for anybody that needs it.
Just download it by clicking on the link below.
https://mega.nz/#!DLw31QJT
decryption key is !PukZSN8yVrnyh5yZiCvaa3VKp4p-NnE9mL-IyHwz4oY
Sharp MZ Developer, Global Moderator and lover of this tiny MZ-80K.
Things I'm looking for
  • A working MZ-700 Emulator with tape emulation.
  • An MZ-80K emulator to try and translate to English

Post Reply