Copying software from site onto cassette

Post Reply
welshie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 2:50 pm

Copying software from site onto cassette

Post by welshie » Wed May 16, 2018 3:06 pm

Hi,
New to the site, just picked up my MZ80A, always wanted one. Used an MZ80K back in the day in Uni but always fancied the 80A.

The computer i bought didn't come with any software, so i was pleased to find this site and even more pleased to see the stacks of software available to download.

Am i doing something silly here because i cannot get the software to load into the 80A.
Step 1, plug a cassette recorder into my main PC.
Step 2, play the .WAV file of my chosen programme and record it onto cassette.
Step 3, load the cassette into the 80A in the usual way.

This is my first time of trying but i don't yet know if the 80A has a problem or not so the fault may not be the cassette i recorded.

I cleaned the tape heads (a bit) and did then get a checksum error during loading, so a more thorough clean may help.

Any other suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.

welshie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 2:50 pm

Re: Copying software from site onto cassette

Post by welshie » Sun May 20, 2018 9:12 am

Update on this for anyone who is interested.

I finally succeeded in getting my first tape to load. Problems were as follows:

1. Make sure the cassette heads are clean, i used a standard head cleaning cassette and that worked well.
2. I initially copied the software onto tape at full volume and this resulted in the checksum error i mentioned in my original post.
3. I recopied the software at about 80% volume and then it loaded fine. Only tried this with Basic to get the principle tested but that was it.

I hope this helps others.

Cheers.

User avatar
mz-80a
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 10:46 am
Location: Devon, UK
Contact:

Re: Copying software from site onto cassette

Post by mz-80a » Sun May 20, 2018 11:10 am

Hi, welcome!

Glad you got the software working in the end. The method I use is to use one of those cassette adapters you used to get for car stereos. Plug the jack into the laptop (with volume at 50%) and place the tape in the MZ-80A. Works very successfully. The only downside is you have to remove the lid from the MZ-80A's cassette deck to fit the adapter plus its audio cable into the cassette deck.
MZ-80A Secrets
https://mz-80a.com/

Sharpworks (Sharp MZ homebrew)
http://mz-sharpworks.co.uk/

hlide
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:31 pm

Re: Copying software from site onto cassette

Post by hlide » Sun May 20, 2018 1:12 pm

Never tried but that kind of device may work with the real tape device. Put an SD card on that cassette and just play it. But the price is quite... not cheap. Obviously, you need to convert MZF files into MP3 files if not WAV files.

https://www.amazon.com/Promotion-Vintag ... SA17CBYQXC
51KaLphhSsL.jpg
51KaLphhSsL.jpg (46.92 KiB) Viewed 487 times

welshie
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 16, 2018 2:50 pm

Re: Copying software from site onto cassette

Post by welshie » Wed May 30, 2018 7:53 am

Looks like a great idea, i might give it a try.

Thanks.

MooZ
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:39 am

Re: Copying software from site onto cassette

Post by MooZ » Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:51 pm

I bought one of those sd card cassette. Unfortunately all I got when I try to load a tape is "Check sum err".

Post Reply