MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

User avatar
tingo
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:10 pm

MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by tingo »

I have finally been able to test the MZ-SD2CMT with my MZ-721. I removed the data recorder and wired up the Mega2560 to P-12 like this:

Code: Select all

P-12        Mega2560
 4 Motor - SSI  16 MZT_MI
 5 Sense - SSO  18 MZT_CS
 6 + 5V
 7 Write - SDI  15 MZT_DI
 8 Read  - SDO   3 MZT_DO
 9 GND   - GND
+ 5V on P-12 is not connected; I use the usb to power the Mega2560 as I need to use the serial monitor in Arduino IDE for the time being.
The wiring is like this in the source code; I also tried changing pin 3 (MZT_DO) to pin 17 as the README file says. But - the MZ-SD2CMT doesn't work.
I press 'L' in the monitor, the select button on the MZ-SD2CMT (I used 1Z-013B.mzf as a test file), the display on the MZ-SD2CMT shows the playing message and nothing more happens.

I have also put back the data recorder and verified that it works; I can still load basic from real tape.

Any hints?
--
Torfinn
hlide
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:31 pm

Re: MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by hlide »

The source is working. The README.md is not updated. You need pin #3 because I use it to emit a one-shot pulse (PWM).
hlide
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:31 pm

Re: MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by hlide »

tingo wrote: Sat Dec 08, 2018 1:59 pm I used 1Z-013B.mzf as a test file
Huh? Where are you trying to load the monitor program in .mzf file? At which address? The monitor in ROM cannot load a program at a load address lesser than $1200: it is forbidden by the monitor.

EDIT: Ah yes! the 1Z-013B is the BASIC, nevermind !
hlide
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:31 pm

Re: MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by hlide »

This is the CYAN line (3 - PE5/INT5/OC3C -> READ)
READ.png
READ.png (146.37 KiB) Viewed 4829 times
hlide
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:31 pm

Re: MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by hlide »

Here is my video showing my MZ-SD²CMT loading BASIC 1Z-013B in ultra-fast mode.

I navigate to 1Z-013B, press RIGHT button to activate ULTRA-FAST mode, then SELECT button to launch loading. After 14s, BASIC runs.

https://youtu.be/KOKyJIB4FTE

Some pictures show how wires are connected:
IMG_20181209_235952.jpg
IMG_20181210_000000.jpg
IMG_20181210_000018.jpg
hlide
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:31 pm

Re: MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by hlide »

As a side note: the LCD seems to be too hungry, I need to plug USB power to provide enough current.
User avatar
tingo
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by tingo »

This afternoon I tried again. Checked my wiring - it looks ok
mz-700_p-12_wiring.jpg
Testing it - I do the same as you; I press 'L' + CR in the monitor:
mz-700_monitor_press_play.jpg
navigate to the file on the mz-sd2cmt and select it:
mz-700_monitor_press_play.jpg
(it doesn't matter if I select ultrafast mode or not)

The problem is that nothing more happens after that.
no "Loading" message on the MZ-700
no progress bare updates on the mz-sd2cmt display

Things I have tried:
- normal / ultrafast mode
- different .mzf files on the sd card
- replaced the wires from P-12 on the mz-700 to the Mega2560

Next I will be replacing the Mega2560, as I don't know what the problem is.
Attachments
mz-sd2cmt_display_playing.jpg
--
Torfinn
User avatar
tingo
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by tingo »

Hmm, it looks like the forum doesn't like my way of adding multiple files inline - apologies.
--
Torfinn
User avatar
tingo
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:10 pm

Re: MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by tingo »

Temporary setback - I need to repair the MZ-721 power supply first. See this thread.
--
Torfinn
hlide
Posts: 481
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 9:31 pm

Re: MZ-SD2CMT - correct wiring?

Post by hlide »

I didn't see your posts. So, basically, everything are checked but the progress bar is not progressing? Do you have an oscilloscope?

Also give me your binary, I'll try to upload it on my Arduino.
Post Reply